Skip to Content

Once Upon A Bookshelf

Where Fiction and Reality Meet

Listed: Stories That Take Place After a Main Character is Dead

Whether through the perspective of ghosts, through the lingering presence, or through memories, stories are often told after the main character has already died. It’s an interesting concept, and can give a picture of what may come after death, as well as why this person had an impact on those around them during life. Today, I wanted to take a look at 10 books that take place after one of the main characters has died.

  1. The Ghost and the Goth by Stacey Kade. Originally Published 2010. LT.
  2. Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher. Originally Published 2007. LT.
  3. A Madness of Angels: Or, the Resurrection of Matthew Swift by Kate Griffin. Originally Published 2009. LT.
  4. The Shape of Mercy by Susan Meissner. Originally Published 2008. LT.
  5. Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier. Originally Published 1938. LT.
  6. Serenity: Float Out by Patton Oswalt. Originally Published 2010. LT.
  7. The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold. Originally Published 2002. LT.
  8. Being Dead by Jim Crace. Originally Published 1999. LT.
  9. Murther and Walking Spirits by Robertson Davies. Originally Published 1991. LT.
  10. Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin. Originally Published 2005. LT.

What books have you enjoyed where the main character (or one of the main characters) is already dead for the majority of the book?

Do you like this feature? You should also check out Librarian’s Book Reviews’ Listless Monday, A Bookshelf Monstrosity’s Books By A Theme and Birdbrain(ed) Book Blog’s Birdwatching.

Posted by Courtney Wilson @ 7:57 am January 30, 2012.
Category: Listed

  • melissa @ 1lbr

    What a clever list! There were a bunch I could think of, but most of them are main characters dealing with the loss of a parent/sibling. Love this!

  • heidenkind

    I think Laura 1/2 way counts?