Skip to Content

Once Upon A Bookshelf

Where Fiction and Reality Meet

Listed: Death as a Character

This week for Listed, I wanted to get some Death involved. (Haha, how morbid does that sound?) There are a lot of boks where Death himself (or herself) is a character, and I wanted to feature ten of those books here.

  1. Discworld by Terry Pratchett. First appears in The Colour of Magic. Originally Published 1983. LT.
  2. The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak. Originally Published 2005. LT.
  3. Katura and Lord Death by Martine Leavitt. Originally Published 2006. LT.
  4. The Sandman series by Neil Gaiman. First appears in Preludes and Nocturnes. Originally Published 1991. LT.
  5. Death’s Daughter by Amber Benson. Originally Published 2009. LT.
  6. Damned if you Do by Gordon Houghton. Originally Published 2000. LT.
  7. Death with Interruptions by José Saramago. Originally Published 2005. LT.
  8. Death: A Life by George Pendle. Originally Published 2008. LT.
  9. Grave Witch by Kalayna Price. Originally Published 2010. LT.
  10. Hunger by Jackie Morse Kessler. Originally Published 2010. LT.

What other books where Death has become and actual character can you think of?

Do you like this feature? You should also check out Librarian’s Book Reviews’ Listless Monday, A Bookshelf Monstrosity’s Books By A Theme and Birdbrain(ed) Book Blog’s Birdwatching.

Posted by Courtney Wilson @ 7:19 am September 27, 2010.
Category: Listed

  • anothercookiecrumbles

    I thought of both, Book Thief & Death at Intervals, but you’ve covered both of them!

    I haven’t read a`Pratchett yet which features Death, and the only Gaiman I’ve read us Coraline. That needs to change.